• Sustainable development

Corporate Sustainable Operation

Looking into the future, Asian Power Devices Inc. proactively responds to issues such as globalization, employment and economic growth, education quality, and climate action. This is to make sure that the idea of corporate sustainable operation is continuously being internalized into organizational strategy and the system, and that corporate social responsibility is also continuously being implemented economically, socially and environmentally:

Asian Power Devices Inc. regards climate change as one of the risks of corporate sustainable operation. In addition to closely observing the tendency of global climate change and analyzing operational risks, we are also able to identify corporate risks caused by climate change like the increase of greenhouse gas emissions, increase of energy costs, green tax, carbon tax, and we are proactively seeking response measures.

We are committed to preventing environmental pollution and providing a healthy, safe and comfortable workplaces for all persons in our facilities, and minimizing EHS risks thought scientific management. We’ll comply with all relevant EHS regulations and agreements and strive for continual improvement to enhance EHS performance.

亞源集團推廣綠色理念,逐步落實節能減碳目標。

Greenhouse gases and climate change

Every year, the UNFCCC Conferences of the Parties discuss the core issues of how countries can reduce greenhouse gas emissions in order to prevent the global temperature from rising by 2 degrees Celsius and the negative impacts caused by climate change.

Even though Taiwan is not one of the Annex 1 Parties of the Kyoto Protocol, the government had already promulgated the Greenhouse Gas Emission Reduction and Management Act on July 1, 2015, to promote the cause nationwide. In addition, China is expected to exceed America in 2016 in the total emissions of carbon dioxide since 1990. China will become the world’s largest country in terms of carbon dioxide emissions.

As environmental awareness rises, consumers will choose products that are more environmentally friendly, and governments are using Green Marks to promote [[[(Green Product Procurement) ]]]. Products will eventually end up in a market that is appealing to the environment.

Asian Power Devices Inc. may not be an energy-intensive industry, and will not be facing the impacts from greenhouse gas reduction any time soon, but there are still potential risks from the coming climate change: for example, an extreme climate can still affect production or delay shipping. Continuous new greenhouse gas regulations from the world might also have a financial impact on Asian Power Devices Inc. and our clients. We at Asian Power Devices Inc. are aware of the potential crisis from climate change, so we have always been highly active in promoting greenhouse gas emissions and energy conservation.

In view of this, since 2010, Asian Power Devices Inc. has been cooperating with the leading clients of Information and Communications Technology in the Greenhouse Gas (GHG) inventory to perform comprehensive inventories across all major factories in Asia Pacific, and drafted the goal for greenhouse gas reduction to continue carrying out every reduction plan in the power systems of all factories. By preparing ourselves early for the risks, we can turn them into opportunities.

For years, Asian Power Devices Inc. have passed the “Reasonable level of assurance” of greenhouse gas verification several times, and received the ISO 14064-1:2006 Organizational Greenhouse Gases Emissions Verification Statement from TÜV SÜD. We also release the inventory report and the detailed list within the organization as well as perfectly preserve all greenhouse gas inventory records.

▲ ISO 14064-1:2006 Organizational Greenhouse Gases Emissions Verification Statement

Corporate Social Responsibility The Conflict Mineral Policy

Asian Power Devices Inc. cares about the social and environmental issues caused by the raw materials of products and their manufacturing processes. One of them comes from the mineral trading in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, which is the main source of revenue of the local armed rebel groups and has led to serious armed conflicts. It has now made international headlines.

CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY THE CONFLICT MINERAL POLICY

As a good corporate citizen, Asian Power Devices Inc. should naturally fulfill its social duty, respect human rights and continue to observe the issues of conflict minerals; therefore, we perform thorough investigations on our suppliers, to make sure metals like tin (Sn), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W) and gold (Au) were not mined from the Congo and its neighboring countries controlled by said armed groups, and work together with our suppliers through responsible procurement.

  • We demand our suppliers not to purchase and use conflict minerals from conflict areas in the Congo.
  • We demand our suppliers to trace the sources of tin (Sn), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W) and gold (Au) from all products, to make sure these metals are not from “Conflict mining areas.”
  • We demand our suppliers to inform us of any use of conflict metals right away, and propose plans to abolish their use.
  • We demand our suppliers to convey our demands to their upstream suppliers.

Asian Power Devices Inc. observes and acquires the latest [[[(Conflict Mineral Reporting Template, CMRT) ]]] to get information on the status of the smelting factory in real time.

Green Design and Management

In order to reduce the impact future products might have against Earth and our living environment, Asian Power Devices Inc. has already been paying attention to the potential harms to the environment during its design phase. To achieve this goal, Asian Power Devices Inc. has included hazardous substance management and easy recycling, disassembly, and low energy consumption to its design standards. Therefore, besides being in accordance with global regulations like RoHS (Restriction of Hazardous substances) and REACH (Registration, Evaluation, and Authorization of Chemicals), we proactively convey every regulation to the supply chain to prevent any hazardous substances from being added to the components. We also work in accordance with global regulations like WEEE, ErP, Energy Star and voluntary standards to proactively invest and develop each green design technique on our products, hoping to greatly reduce the impact the products may have on the environment.

For the thorough implementation of green supply chain management, we at Asian Power Devices Inc. not only puts effort into the environmental management and related training programs of our interior, we also care about supplier management by encouraging the suppliers to bear environmental and social responsibilities as well. Therefore, we established our own green standards and requirements to restrict our suppliers to a certain degree. This is to make sure that the suppliers will do their parts in raising the green level of the product life cycle, and fulfill their corporate social responsibilities during production management.

The GPM LIGHT Green Supply Chain Management System was introduced in 2010, which established a standard green management procedure for Asian Power Devices Inc. and our supply chain, helping us control the information of green products. Through the establishment of The GPM LIGHT Green Supply Chain Management System, we are able to build a circulating channel of information, and test reports, commitment letters and supplement facts can be easily proposed within the supply chain. Green information is shared in real-time, and work is synchronized. This reduces non-environmentally friendly ratio and the test costs.

In our daily management, we use (X-ray Fluorescence Spectrometer, XRF)  to run our tests on materials and hazardous substances, and monitor the conditions of hazardous substances in each segment. This is our corporate social responsibility for the environment.

GREEN DESIGN AND MANAGEMENT
© 2019 Copyright - Asian Power Devices Inc.

• Sustainable development

企業永續經營

展望未來,亞源集團積極回應全球化、就業與經濟成長、教育品質及氣候行動等議題,將企業永續發展的理念不斷內化於組織策略與體制中,於經濟、社會及環境各領域持續推展並落實企業社會責任:

亞源集團亦將氣候變遷視為企業永續經營的風險項目之一,除密切關注全球氣候變遷發展趨勢、分析營運風險外,也鑑別出如溫室氣體排放量增加、能源成本增加、環保稅、碳稅等因氣候變遷導致的企業風險,並積極尋求因應措施。

我們持續秉持之環境政策為「節能減碳、預防污染、健康安全、全員參與、科學管理、控制風險、遵守法規、持續改進」,即不斷研發低耗能及低毒設計、推廣綠色理念、符合國際法規及滿足客戶需求之創新產品,逐步落實節能減碳目標,以實現亞源集團永續經營的願景。

亞源集團推廣綠色理念,逐步落實節能減碳目標。

溫室氣體與氣候變遷

聯合國氣候變化綱要公約締約國大會(COP) 每年會議的核心議題,在於各國如何減少溫室氣體的排放以阻止全球氣溫上升攝氏兩度,避免氣候變遷帶來的負面影響。

台灣雖然非屬京都議定書中的附件一國家,但政府已於2015年7月1日公布施行「溫室氣體減量及管理法」,以期能推動全國溫室氣體減量行動。而中國在 1990 年之後的二氧化碳累計排放量預計到2016年將超過美國,中國將成為全球最大的二氧化碳排放國。

隨著環境意識的提升,消費者會選擇對環境較友善的產品、各國政府搭配環保標章來推動綠色採購 (Green Product Procurement) 等,皆會將產品推向一個以環境為訴求的市場。

亞源集團雖然非能源密集性產業,不會立即面臨因溫室氣體減量造成的衝擊,然而未來全球氣候變遷仍會造成一些潛在風險,如極端氣候影響產品生產、出貨延遲風險等;國際間陸續公告相關之溫室氣體法規,亦可能對亞源集團及其客戶群造成財務面的影響,亞源集團了解氣候變遷可能帶來的潛在危機,故長期以來積極推動溫室氣體排放及節能減碳。

有鑑於此,亞源集團自 2010 年即配合全球資通訊 (ICT) 龍頭客戶進行組織型溫室氣體 (Greenhouse Gas, GHG) 盤查,對亞太各大廠區進行全面盤查,並擬定溫室氣體減量目標,持續在各廠區電力系統全面推行各項減量方案,及早因應風險,將風險轉化為機會。

亞源集團多年來持續通過溫室氣體查證之「合理性保證」, 並獲TÜV SÜD 頒發 ISO 14064-1:2006 組織型溫室氣體查證聲明書,組織內部並每年發行盤查報告書及盤查清冊,完整保留溫室氣體盤查記錄。

ISO 14064-1:2006 組織型溫室氣體查證聲明書

衝突礦產政策

亞源集團定期關注並獲取最新的衝突礦產調查模版(Conflict Mineral Reporting Template, CMRT),以即時掌握冶煉廠的合格狀況。

CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY THE CONFLICT MINERAL POLICY

亞源集團對於製造產品的原料與過程中引發的社會與環境問題持續關切,其中來自剛果民主共和國的礦產交易,成為當地武裝叛亂團體的主要財源,引起嚴重的武裝衝突,亦引發了國際社會的關注。

身為良好的企業公民,亞源集團自當善盡社會責任、尊重人權,並持續關注衝突礦產議題,致力詳實調查供應鏈,以確保錫(Sn)、鉭(Ta)、鎢(W)、金(Au)等金屬,並非來自剛果及其鄰近國家受武裝團體控制之礦區所開採,並透過負責任的採購行為,跟供應商共同響應。

  • 要求供應商不採購及不使用來自剛果民主共和國衝突區域之衝突金屬。
  • 要求供應商追溯所有產品中所含的金(Au),鉭(Ta),錫(Sn)和鎢(W)來源,以確保這些金屬不是來自於「衝突礦區」。
  • 要求供應商產品如有使用衝突金屬時需立即告知,一併提出不使用計畫。
  • 要求供應商應將此要求傳達給其上游供應商。

綠色設計與管理

為減少未來產品對地球、人類生存環境可能的衝擊,亞源集團在設計階段即考量產品可能對環境造成的危害,為達到這個目標,亞源集團的設計標準包含有害物質管理、易回收再利用之設計、易拆解之設計和低能耗設計。因此,我們除依據全球有害物質限制使用相關法規如 RoHS (Restriction of Hazardous substances) 與 REACH (Registration, Evaluation, and Authorization of Chemicals)及其他國際標準制定內部規範,更將各項規範積極傳達至產品供應鏈,避免零部件有害物質之添加,也依據 WEEE 、 ErP 、 Energy Star 等國際法規與自願性標準,積極投入並開發產品面上各項綠色設計技術,期能有效降低產品對環境的衝擊。

為了落實綠色供應鏈管理,亞源集團不僅關心企業內部的環境管理及相關教育訓練,同時更關注供應商管理,推動供應商承擔環境及社會責任。因此,我們建立了綠色標準和要求,對供應商形成一定程度的約束,促使供應商提升整個產品生命週期的綠色程度,並在生產經營過程中確實履行企業社會責任。

2010年導入 「GPM LIGHT綠色供應鏈管理系統」 ,建立亞源集團及供應鏈體系間標準綠色管理流程,掌控綠色產品資訊。同時透過 「GPM LIGHT綠色供應鏈管理系統」 的建置,建立資訊的流通管道,供應鏈體系間提出檢測報告、承諾書及產品成分表,串聯綠色資訊做到即時分享、運作同步化,有助於降低環保規格不符比率,節省檢測成本。

在日常管控方面則使用X射線螢光分析儀 (X-ray Fluorescence Spectrometer, XRF) 執行材料及成品的有害物質檢測,各環節監控有害物質使用狀況,為環保竭盡企業社會責任。

GREEN DESIGN AND MANAGEMENT
© 2019 Copyright - Asian Power Devices Inc.